Need some help in Acer system recovery? Want to restore your system to factory defaults? Acer eRecovery Management is a handy tool for restoring Acer computers to factory default or a user set good configuration. But what if you are unable to access Windows? Can you use Acer eRecovery Management when Windows operating system is unable to boot? Don’t worry! You can use Acer eRecovery even when Windows failed to start. In such a situation, you need to open the eRecovery program outside of Windows environment. Once the program is loaded, you can easily restore the operating system to factory defaults. Read on to find out more.
Start Acer eRecovery outside of Windows:
- Turn on your computer.
- Immediately after pressing the power on button, press down ALT key and start tapping F10 on your keyboard.
- A screen stating “Starting Acer eRecovery management” should appear. Then release ALT key and stop tapping F10.
The Acer eRecovery Management window will give you two Restore options: 1) Restore Operating system to factory defaults and 2) Restore Operating system and retain user data.
The first option will restore your operating system to factory default status. On the other hand, second option restores the operating system to factory defaults and files from your user accounts will be transferred to a backup folder in C drive. If your Windows operating system is infected with viruses or malware, selecting second option is not wise. It will make your freshly restored system prone to previously present viruses or malware. So, I suggest that you always use the first option, i.e., reset to factory defaults.
Using Acer eRecovery to Restore Operating system to Factory defaults:
- Select the first option from the Select Restore Type window.
- A notice will inform you that all data in C drive will be deleted. Press Next button.
- Restore Destination information will appear. Press Next
- Another notice will appear warning this action will erase all existing data on the respective partition. Press OK
- Restore Progress will be displayed. When restore process is finished, your system will automatically reboot.
- After the reboot, Windows setup process will run and software & drivers will also be installed.
The above mentioned action will erase all existing data on your C drive. All files, settings, updates and software installed since you first used the system will be deleted. Final setup and cleanup of recovery files might take some time. So, wait patiently and follow the prompts.